The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 31, 2009, 10:47 AM   #1
premed2009

Help with me reloads!

Hey Guys,

Thanks for opening my thread. I am brand new to reloading. I just started out when I found my Dad's old rusty RCBS Rockchucker in the garage and after a few hours of elbow grease, it works like new. I've gone out and bought everything I need, and I'm producing 9mm cartridges that fit the specs provided on Hodgdon's website:

Bullet:125 GR. LCN
Powder: Hodgdon Titegroup
Bullet diameter: .356"
COL: 1.125"
Starting Charge: 3.6
Max Charge: 4.0

I haven't gone off and fired my rounds yet because I'm afraid I'll blow my gun up. Every time that I load one of my lead bullets into the cartridge, it shaves a little bit of lead off the bullet (I weighed the shaved lead one time and it came out to be about .4 gr.). I'm using the rockchucker with Dillon dies. I'm using a cheap caliper but you really can't miss 1.125 inches on anything (1 and 1/8 an inch). I'm using the Lee volume measures to measure my powder.

How do I sound guys? I've heard that the littlest change in bullet weight can affect pressures and such, so I am a little uneasy about firing these rounds before I get the forum's opinion.

Thanks,
Andrew
"The most foolish mistake we could possibly make would be to allow the subject races to possess arms. History shows that all conquerors who have allowed their subject races to carry arms have prepared their own downfall by so doing."
- Adolf Hitler
Old March 31, 2009, 10:54 AM   #2
Wayne_E

You may not be belling the case enough. The dillon dies do not include a expander die like the RCBS, LEE etc., because on dillon presses the powder die also expands the case. You should be belling the case just enough for the bullet to slide in without shaving any lead.
Old March 31, 2009, 10:56 AM   #3
Magnum Wheel Man