The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old August 21, 2010, 07:18 PM   #1
headbangerJD

Stoeger Coach for clays?

I am interested in purchasing a Stoeger Coach gun (20in barrel). One of the uses will be for shooting clays, but the salesman told me that the short barrel and choke made the pattern expand to quickly to be used for shooting clays. Is this true?
Can I change the choke to fix this?

Thanks
Old August 21, 2010, 07:36 PM   #2
5RWill

While i have no experience with short barreled shotguns such as coach or sawed off i would imagine so, not saying it's impossible but they do expand extremely quick.
Old August 21, 2010, 08:15 PM   #3
Dave McC
Staff In Memoriam

Not ideal, but not dangerous. Go shoot Skeet......
Old August 21, 2010, 08:29 PM   #4
headbangerJD

Better for clays...

Stoeger Uplander (26in barrel) or Baikal (20in barrel) both w/ screw in chokes?
Old August 21, 2010, 08:32 PM   #5
Rampant_Colt

JD - are you shooting informally with a friend hand-throwing the clays, or are you going to an actual gun club with 25yd stations and houses & stuff?
Old August 21, 2010, 09:00 PM   #6
headbangerJD

I'm shooting informally. I've always wanted a SxS coach gun, but just recently got into (informally) shooting clays and would like to be able to use the SxS for that purpose. I looked at a Stoeger Coach gun today w/ a 20in barrel and the short barrel was both a pro and a con. Pro: the gun handled well and felt good. Con: the short barrel made it harder to naturally find point of aim and the salesmen said the fixed choke would make it a horrible clay gun.
Old August 21, 2010, 09:05 PM   #7
Rampant_Colt

I use my 18-1/2" Baikal 'Bounty Hunter 2' to bust hand-tossed clays quite frequently

Last edited by Rampant_Colt; August 21, 2010 at 10:42 PM.
Old August 21, 2010, 09:14 PM   #8
Jo6pak