The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old October 3, 2014, 08:28 PM   #1
SpringOWeiler

1st Time Hunter; Help

After buying hunting licenses for the past 9 years (my way of directly supporting the Dept of Fish and Game) will be the first time I will actually hunt.
I'm planning on going pheasant hunting and have about 6 weeks to prepare. I have a Remington 870 wingmaster magnum 3" shotgun 28" barrel. No choke.
What type of ammo should I get?
How do you field dress Pheasants?
How should I practice for this upcoming hunt?
Old October 3, 2014, 08:42 PM   #2
mete

Sporting clays was developed for training and practice for hunting with a shotgun .And it's fun too !
Pheasant ? Think chicken .Some knifes have a hook to remove the insides. Do this soon as you can. open body cavity from sternum to vent , remove insides.The feathers can be easily removed , bit by bit if it'd done soon otherwise it may be easyer to dunk in hot water , then defeather.
You must pattern your loads and pick the best for pattern and get an idea of minimum and max range. This is done at 40 yds.
Old October 3, 2014, 09:15 PM   #3
SpringOWeiler

Is there any type of ammo I should use or avoid. Obviously Self defense ammo is probably out of the picture. Currently I have high velocity steel shot. Never patterned it though. I remember dissecting quails in my college biology class so at least I have that to fall back on. I"m just not trying to make a stupid mistake with this. My friend and a I are going to practice at a trap range a couple of times before we go out.
Old October 3, 2014, 10:19 PM   #4
jimbob86

Quote:
The feathers can be easily removed , bit by bit if it'd done soon otherwise it may be easyer to dunk in hot water , then defeather.
I've been hunting pheasant a long time, and have never seen anyone pluck one. Ever.