The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 30, 1999, 11:16 AM   #1
DblTap

I have been reloading for pistol for the last seven years but have now been bitten by the rifle bug. I have purchased two rifles in .308 (Steyr Scout and Stoner SR-25) which are both very accurate.

Now the only thing that I do to my pistol brass is throw it into the tumbler, clean it up and inspect it for cracks before reloading it on the Dillon 650.

What else do I have to do to rifle brass after I tumble it and before I start the reloading process?

Is neck polishing necessary?
Is case trimming necessary?
What other stuff is necessary?

What equipment do I need to do all of the above and is it worth it? I am trying to duplicate the Federal Gold Match loads using Sierra 168 gn bullets and before I get too deep into this, I would appreciate some feedback from a rifle reloader or two.

Thanks,
DblTap
Old November 30, 1999, 02:49 PM   #2
Kuiper

A case trimmer is definitely something you want when reloading rifle rounds. So that is definitely something to buy when shelling our for quality dies etc. If you have a progressive press, you'll probably need another dieplate too.

Here's what I do for reloading .223. I tumble the cases to clean, spray some caselube on them to make the sizing and decapping process easier(lubing is a must, a stuck case in the sizerdie is not something you want to deal with). After sizing, I clean the decapped, sized cases with hot water. Let drie and do a quick retumble for that new look I like. I prime the cases and load at my convenience.

note: I do all my reloading on a Rockchucker press, since you are reloading on progressive press. The order of things can be different. Something you will have find out yourself.

------------------
Disperse you rebels, disperse and lay down your weapons at once

[This message has been edited by Kuiper (edited November 30, 1999).]