The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 1, 2008, 04:35 PM   #1
Headgear

9mm 115gr FMJ OAL?

Hi all, I'm new to reloading! I have a new Dillon 650 press on the way and ordered 115gr 9mm FMJ bullets, bullseye powder, a Lyman manual. The first thing I noticed was, under the 115gr bullet load data, the manual only lists data for 115gr JHP. I'm concerned after reading the manual that the OAL may be different for these two bullets. Does anyone know what the OAL should be or where I could find out what it should be for the 115 FMJ? Sorry for the long winded question and thanks for any response.
Old December 1, 2008, 06:33 PM   #2
justdoit

hi headgear, i'm new to the forum but have been loading 9mm for a while.
i use bullseye, 4.3- 4.7gn, 1.115-1.125. i shoot a glock and these loads work well, this is for fmj and i also use berry plated bullets. hope this helps
Old December 1, 2008, 06:34 PM   #3
Unclenick
Staff

Generally speaking, it is the depth the base goes into the case that determines peak pressure in a short straight-walled case. Deeper means more pressure, shallower means less. What charge were you planning on using? What are the lengths of the bullets mentioned and what are their recommended COL's?
NRA Benefactor Member and Golden Eagle
Old December 1, 2008, 06:58 PM   #4
D. Manley

Quote:
Hi all, I'm new to reloading! I have a new Dillon 650 press on the way and ordered 115gr 9mm FMJ bullets, bullseye powder, a Lyman manual. The first thing I noticed was, under the 115gr bullet load data, the manual only lists data for 115gr JHP. I'm concerned after reading the manual that the OAL may be different for these two bullets. Does anyone know what the OAL should be or where I could find out what it should be for the 115 FMJ? Sorry for the long winded question and thanks for any response.