The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 11, 2013, 03:56 PM   #1
JayClark79

Flake powder vs non flake

Does anyone know if Ramshot Zip powder is considered a flake powder or a non flake powder?

Im new to reloading and i'm using the Lee Perfect powder measure with the disks... Well I was getting really low weights with the disk im supposed to use to get the 5.2 grains... (the .43 disk).. so i switched to the .46 disk and im still only getting 5.1 grains pretty consecutively... is this normal with flake powder?...

Should I jump to the next disk size up to get a 5.3 grains... the starting point for the powder is 5.2 and the max is 5.8 grains.

Im using a progressive press and do not have a trinkle device thingy
Old March 11, 2013, 04:16 PM   #2
jimbob86

Do you mean the Lee AutoDisk?

I have the Lee PPM, and it does not have disks ....... but it does not throw flake powders (Red/Blue Dot, 700X, etc.) very consistantly, either.

I know nothing of Ramshot powders ..... can't help you there.
Old March 11, 2013, 04:28 PM   #3
JayClark79

Ya the auto disks.. I have whatever powder dispenser goes on top of the turrets... I thought it was the same thing with a die adapter my bad :/
Old March 11, 2013, 04:31 PM   #4
jimbob86

What cartridge are you loading?
Old March 11, 2013, 04:31 PM   #5
LE-28

What Jimbo86 said,

Lee Auto dics measures use volumetric measure instead of weight measure. Yes, you may have to jump to the next size disc to get the weight you want.

It doesn't matter to me what the chart says that Lee supplies with the powder measure, as long as I get the weight my trusted scales says is right.

Lee offers an adjustable charge bar that you can get exactly the correct amount of powder from.

http://leeprecision.com/adj-charge-bar.html
Old March 11, 2013, 04:57 PM   #6
JayClark79