The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old October 19, 2013, 09:50 AM   #1
johnm1

1861 Springfield - Load Data

I will be shooting my newly aquired 1861 Springfield Rifle this afternoon and would like some suggestions for a safe load. I understand that the standard military load for this rifle was 60 grains of black powder over a 500 grain minnie ball. Is that correct? A friend gave me some .575 minnies af varying weight to test with. I am new to the rifled black powder world and need to confirm the powder charge for each weight of minnie. Now maybe it doesn't really matter but here is what I was given for my test:

552 grain .579 diameter flat base
508 grain .575 hollow base
526 grain .575 hollow base
446 grain .575 flat base

I don't want to beat up the rifle but i do want to expand the base on the hollow base minnies. So any suggestions would be helpful. I think I understand that most use a 55 grain load of black powder over a 500 grain bullet. What I don't know is if black powder is as sensitive to changes in bullet weight as smokless is.

Todays test is to see if the .575 minnies will expand to engage the rifling or if i need a larger sized minnie as I expect I do.

Thanks.
Old October 19, 2013, 10:29 AM   #2
Hawg

I use a Lyman Mold that casts a 510 grain minie to .577. I use 70 grains of powder. You might do ok with the .575's but they are a tad small and may move in the bore. Generally the best size is .001-.003 under bore size. The .579 solid bullet may do ok but the .575 is too small to give a tight fit in the bore.
Old October 19, 2013, 10:39 AM   #3
johnm1

Thanks Hawg,