The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 4, 2012, 06:58 AM   #1
northwingnut

Crimp or Not to Crimp

I am very new to reloading and I started with my 10mm. I read a couple different manuals and they are all pretty vague about the type of crimp needed.

On 10mm they say you can taper crimp if desired. I also want to reload .40 cal and the manual says no crimp is needed. Is that true or should I use a seperate factory crimp die for both?
Old March 4, 2012, 08:10 AM   #2
steve4102

The crimp is a must if you want you loads to feed and function in a semi-auto. The crimp in these two rounds is called a "taper" crimp. You apply only enough crimp to remove the flare plus maybe a thou more. I crimp both my 40 and 10mm to .421.
Old March 4, 2012, 08:42 AM   #3
northwingnut

So can I use the seating and crimping die to do both in one action or does that aply a roll crimp?
Old March 4, 2012, 08:48 AM   #4
IllinoisCoyoteHunter

Yes, use your seating die to both seat the bullet and taper crimp. The taper crimp, as stated, just pushes the flare back against the bullet.

I decided to explain how to set up your third die so you can save money and not buy a dedicated crimp die.

This is how I do it, if you care:

1. Put a case that has been sized and flared into the shell holder. Lower the handle on your press, which will raise the case to the top of the stroke. Then, screw the seating/crimp die into the press until you feel the crimping portion of the die contact the case mouth. Once this happens, back the die out one full turn. Tighten lock ring.