The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old June 28, 2006, 12:46 PM   #1
smooks75

Moss 500 8-shot

I can't find any referance to any additional barrels for this model. Do I have to buy the 5 shot version for barrel changes??? Any help would be great. Thanks everyone.....this is my first post!
Old June 28, 2006, 01:42 PM   #2
rugerdude

I'm no expert, but I've certainly never seen any extra barrels (as far as slug barrels and full length rib barrels) for the 8 shot model.

However, barrels are plentiful for the 6 shot model, and you're only sacraficing 2 shells for the versatility that you can get from being able to buy slug, rib and I believe there's even a blackpowder rifle barrel.

Not my quote but I agree completely.
Old June 28, 2006, 08:45 PM   #3
mtnboomer

Check 590 barrels, they may be what you're looking for.

Support the Second Amendment. Join the NRA > http://www.nra.org <

Oklahoma State & Big 12 - #1 GO POKES!!!!!
Old June 29, 2006, 03:34 AM   #4
rugerdude

The 8-shot M500 is NOT a 590, the barrel attaches a completely different way and 590 barrels will not fit the 8 shot 500 or vice versa.

Not my quote but I agree completely.
Old June 29, 2006, 01:13 PM   #5
Dfariswheel

Here's the problem with Mossberg Model 500 barrel's and magazine lengths.

The Mossberg barrel has a lug with a finger screw that screws into the end of the magazine tube.
The 5 shot models have the lug attached closer to the rear of the barrel, and the 8 shot models attach farther forward.

Because of this, you MUST buy a barrel to fit whichever length of magazine tube is installed in the receiver.

You CANNOT put a barrel made for a 5 shot gun on an 8 shot receiver, and you can't put a barrel made for a 8 shot gun on an 5 shot receiver.

What you can do, is buy a new longer or shorter magazine tube and barrel, and install them on your gun.