The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old October 9, 2011, 06:29 PM   #1
thunderbird101

Which Deer Rifle Combo should I choose???

I am new to hunting, only went on a few hunts last year and never had a shot at a deer. However, I am greatly looking forward to Oct. 15th when deer season begins in NC! I have a dilemma however, & could use some help.

Currently I have an open sight Yugo SKS which I hunted with last year. Accuracy at a 100 yards or less is decent, but with an open sight and shaky hands I do not feel comfortable shooting a deer currently with it at that range. My 2 options are right now, get a scope for the SKS, or upgrade to a Mosin Nagant chambered in 7.62x54R.

I would LOVE an excuse to get a Mosin for the larger bullet size and increased accuarcy, esp. at longer ranges; however most I have seen do not come with scopes therefore I would have to put out the money for a scope & possibly the fee for a gunsmith to mount it. (Can I mount a scope myself or does a mount have to be drilled? I've heard both ways! )

Just buying a scope for the SKS would be cheaper, but again less accuracy and smaller bullet.

The BIGGEST deciding factor here is money. I am a starving college student and my price range AT MOST is about $300. (prefferrably a LOT less! )

Any advice or suggestions would be most appreciated!
Old October 9, 2011, 06:34 PM   #2
shootniron

This is just my opinion, but I would scope the SKS. I have one that is scoped and at 100yds...it is accurate, cheap and deadly.
Old October 9, 2011, 06:44 PM   #3
thunderbird101

From the little research I've had time to do so far on accessorizing the SKS w/ a scope, it appears I need to get a new reciever cover that is fitted for a scope (for roughly $20.00). Is there an easier/cheaper way?