The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old July 10, 2007, 11:41 PM   #1
Axion

Shooting left, with a twist.

I know there are lots of "I shoot left what's wrong" threads out there but I think this one is just a bit different. Since I started shooting I've focused on improving my accuracy with mostly slow controlled shots, not worrying about controlling the recoil for fastest possible follow up.

That said one of the one things that bothered me is that the muzzle has tended to flip up and to the right when it recoils rather then straight up. Until this last weekend when I tried holding the gun more centered in front of my body and standing more square to the target. Now low and behold the gun recoils straight up and returns back to the target much quicker.

The issue is that holding the gun more centered in front of my body, as opposed to in line with my right eye, seems to cause me to aim a bit to the left. It's not a huge amount, less the 2inches at 50ft, but I still feel there should be some way to counter this.
Old July 11, 2007, 12:48 AM   #2
Tanzer

Google Brian Enos. He's got a few different styles of grip. Many might blame thumbing etc. I suspect you may need a better grip with your weak hand and revisit the push-pull.
Old July 11, 2007, 10:07 AM   #3
Lurper

The gun will torque to the right because of the rifling. Where the gun is relative to your body will have no impact on whether you shoot to the left or not. You don't want to push/pull. You should have a neutral grip/stance.
Shooting left can be caused by a couple of things. What type of pistol are you shooting?

You can find help here: www.pistolmaster.com

This may help w/the grip:
Old July 11, 2007, 12:32 PM   #4
JWT

This site has targets that can help diagnose shooting 'problems' and might be useful for you. (
(Correction Target for Right Handed Shooters and Correction Target for Left Handed Shooters)

www.bghi.us/index.php?x=targets