The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old February 21, 2011, 03:51 AM   #1
Max

Beginner AR-15 Competition?

Hi, I am new to shooting and I have myself a new Stag Model 2T, 1-9" twist. I live in California near the Sacramento area.

Everything I read says that a 1-7" twist is mandatory for high powered rifle competitions, can somebody explain to me why this is, and additionally, offer any suggestions for competitions that I can get into in my area, with THIS gun, if any?

Much appreciated.

Cheers!
Old February 21, 2011, 07:58 AM   #2
lmccrock

A twist faster than 1:9" is better than stabilizing the heavier bullets commonly used in highpower. A 9 twist will stabilize bullets to 68-69 gr, and MAYBE as heavy as 75-77, but do not count on it. For reduced range (to 100 or 200 or 300, not 600 yds), the lighter bullets are fine. Lots to learn even at reduced distance.

A 1:8" twist will stabilize the 75-77 bullets, so a 7 twist is not "necessary".

Lee
Old February 21, 2011, 01:45 PM   #3
kraigwy

Quote:
A 1:8" twist will stabilize the 75-77 bullets, so a 7 twist is not "necessary".
Most high power shooter shoot 80 - 90 grn bullets at 600 & 1000 yards, so yes a 1:7 is necessary.

When in doubt always go heavier or faster twist. A 1:7 will shoot lighter bullets but a faster twist will not shoot heavier bullets. This chart shows the compairson.

Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
Old February 21, 2011, 04:08 PM   #4
Max

Are there any competitions that do not include the higher range segment, so that I can enter and be fine shooting my Stag 2T 1-9" twist? Because like I said, I already own the gun, and I would rather not have to buy new parts to compete.

That said, if I MUST have a 1-7" to compete, can I simply buy a new barrel with the proper twist and slap it in my 2HT upper, or is it necessary to have a completely new upper (or lower for that matter) in order for the barrel with a higher twist to be usable?