The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old December 11, 2008, 09:20 PM   #1
NGIB

First pin shoot

Shot my first head to head bowling pin match last night while I'm visiting Ft Stewart (SE GA) on business. Great bunch of fellas do this about once a month and they range they use is great. It started with a qualifying round to define the pairings and I didn't do that well - towards the bottom of the pack. I think it was a bit of nerves as I hadn't done this before.

Once the head to head matches started I settled down and competed very well - I ended up winning the event by a fraction of a second. I used my trusty Kimber Gold Match with 230 FMJ ammo and it generally knocked the pins off with a solid hit. The folks shooting 9mm and .40 generally used hollow points and it appeared to be necessary. During the first match I scored 2 good hits on a pin and they punched right thru, after this I started shooting a bit higher and this worked very well.

If you've never tried this type of event - it's great fun and very good training for quick reaction shooting. This was my first but it won't be my last...

I'm old, grumpy, and jaded - still vertical though...
Old December 11, 2008, 09:26 PM   #2
MrNiceGuy

i've always used 9mm at bowling pin shoots
it's always been fmj ammo and i've never needed more than one hit to knock down the pin

but the 45acp was going right through them eh?
what loads?
Old December 11, 2008, 09:31 PM   #3
NGIB

Just regular Blazer brass 230 gr FMJ. We played around a little after the match and it wasn't difficult to drill the pin with 9mm FMJ and just get a wobble...

I'm old, grumpy, and jaded - still vertical though...
Old December 11, 2008, 09:34 PM   #4
MrNiceGuy

either your pins were defective or your loads were too light lol

that's odd... i've never had a problem getting them to do acrobatics with the 9mm
Old January 8, 2009, 08:23 PM   #5
popbang