The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old October 28, 2007, 04:49 PM   #1
garymb

It's between 3 of them...

So I am new to shotguns and am looking to acquire my first, though am limited to choose between three that my mother has inherited (she is offering me one as a gift): a Winchester 12ga over/under with "pigeon grade XTR" stamped on the barrel, a Winchester 20ga over/under also with "pigeon grade lightweight XTR" stamped on the barrel and what I think is a removable choke, and a Browning 12ga over/under that I have been told has salt in the wood; from what I can remember the stock has discolored powdery spots on it and the finish looks wavy as if it were cracking, though no actual surface cracks are present, and the rubber shoulder pad/cushion is cracking. Unfortunately I need to decide without actually looking at the guns again, as two of them will be sold before I have a chance to visit my mother and go through the transfer process. Basically, it would be my only shotgun, that I would use for bird hunting, blowing up gophers, etc. I havn't fired a shotgun since I was a kid and hunted gophers with my dad's old 410, so I'm not sure what to expect with the recoil of the 12 vs 20 ga...I'm a 5'10 165lb male to put things in perspective. So, from this very limited description, what would you all choose?
Old October 28, 2007, 05:50 PM   #2
perazzimx14

Choice is up to you. To bad you cannot get back and see which one you prefer.

As conceerning the "salt wood". Years ago Browning used salt to help aide in the extraction of moisture in the wood blanks. This proved to be a bad idea as salt and carbon steel do not mix well. Not all of the wood was effected though. Only the wood on the outside of the pile that came in contact with the salt was. So even if you have a "salt wood" Browning there may be nothing wrong with it. Even now Browning will replace the "salt wood" free of charge.