The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old October 12, 2010, 05:25 PM   #1
McPhee

Traditions ?

I am new to BP shooting and this forum. I got interested in BP and have a Pietta Navy 1851 44 from Cabelas and a Uberti Walker Colt 44 from DGW. Due to shoulder surgery, I have not fired either and have been trying to learn as much as I can about them. I own several centerfire and rimfire handguns and reload so I am not new to guns in general, just to BP pistols.

I just love the look and feel of these older style guns. I want more.

I have a gift certificate for Bass Pro shops who sell Traditions brand bp handguns. I am not sure who makes Traditions but by looks of the guns it might be Pietta???

I don't see much on this forum about Traditions brand guns and note that Bass Pro prices are a bit higher than Cabelas. Anything wrong with getting a Traditions gun?

Thanks
Old October 12, 2010, 06:24 PM   #2
Andy Griffith

Traditions is an importer/marketer/distributor and warranter of black powder rifles and pistols. In replica blackpowder revolvers they use Pietta and some Spanish ones in flint and percussion single shots.

They have their own warranty department and give an extra warranty of one year on each one sold which is imported by them. They will not warranty any others imported by any other importer such as Cabelas or Dixie Gun Works or anyone else.

They also do some exclusives to them that no other importers do, such as the "gold rush" series and some others- which makes them stand out. Also, their extra cylinders were fairly reasonable through my local dealer- but that was a year ago, so it's likely they've gone up- dollar against the euro and all that jazz...

If you can get one with a certificate which makes it less expensive- go for it!