The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old September 26, 2014, 03:30 PM   #1
Everymanalion

Swivel stud screw too long for front of Marlin 60 stock... help please?

Just as the title says, the bolt/screw that goes on the front of the rifle on my Marlin 60w to install a sling mount is wayyyy too long, this is my first attempt to modify any rifle I have beyond basic stuff and I am stumped, I bought the Blackhawk! swivel studs+hardware at Walmart for rifles but im curious if I take this back, do gun shops usually carry smaller hardware so I can DIY this?

I really do not want to cut the screw because I read you can mess the threading up but Marlin really gave me no leeway because the front of the stock is so damn skinny, any advice is appreciated, thank you.
Old September 26, 2014, 03:42 PM   #2
zach_

Poor man's custom stud cut as follows. Thread a nut on the screw. Cut the screw with bolt cutters, hacksaw, visegrips with a cutter in the jaw, or whatever you have. File the screw flat holding it with pliers, bevel the edges. Partially remove the nut and work the cut area with the threads in the nut. Touch up with a marksalot. It worked on the swivel stud I cut for my ar bipod mounting. KUSTOM!!! But it does work.
Old September 26, 2014, 03:44 PM   #3
Doyle

Zach is right. The key to getting a clean cut on a screw thread is to put the nut on before you cut it off and use the nut as a thread chaser.
Old September 26, 2014, 03:48 PM   #4
zach_

I did not want to recommend a power tool. A Dremel wood do the job faster, better, and easier. You may bleed though.
Old September 26, 2014, 03:49 PM   #5
zach_

Would do. Dang auto correct.
Old September 26, 2014, 04:59 PM   #6
Everymanalion

thanks guys!
Old September 27, 2014, 07:35 AM   #7
cecILL

There is a swivel that mounts to the magazine tube.
Old September 27, 2014, 07:59 AM   #8
Blindstitch

Exactly what Zach said except I use a dremel and a soft jaw vice.