The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old February 15, 2005, 03:09 PM   #1
bubba2

Home defense shotgun choice

I am getting ready to buy a shotgun for home defense. I have researched and I found the Remington 870P max. It is expensive but it has what I want on it and it seems like I will end up spending that much or more buying a regular police shotgun and adding on to it. Does anyone here have any experience with the Remington 870P max? Does anyone have any suggestions or other shotguns to choose? I realize they are loaded questions but I am just trying to find other perspectives. I am relatively new to shotguns I shot clay pigeons when I was growing up with a double barrell shotgun but I have not shot one in quite a while.
Old February 15, 2005, 04:56 PM   #2
VirgilCaine

Remington 870's are always a good choice. You may wanna look at the winchester 1300 defenders, or the mossberg persuader as a comparison. All have up and down sides to them. i like the position of the saftey on the mossbergs, but they tend to rattle and make noise. I like 870's but the saftey is in a bad spot for me. I keep a 1300 defender next to my bed. I sleep pretty good most nights.
Old February 15, 2005, 05:18 PM   #3
Rojoe67

I don't want to change your mind but have you thought of a coach gun side by side......short barrel easy to handle ?

It all depends on how you feel and what you feel your needing.... Remington now offers Spartan side by sides and over and unders too. I think they are economy priced guns. I think they are built in Russia?

As I stated above, not trying to change your mind just offer an idea besides a pump...

Good luck what ever you pick.........train, practice and survive
Old February 15, 2005, 06:58 PM   #4
LAkid