The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old September 23, 2014, 04:53 PM   #1
Rangerrich99

Help. More Accuracy from my AR?

First things first. I'm not an expert rifleman. And I am certainly no expert with an AR (I'm a shotgun guy mostly). But I've spent some time in the last two years trying to improve my meager skills. I think I've made some headway, but it occurred to me that instead of going through the process completely by trial and error, I might ask the experts here for some feedback.

So I've decided to turn my Ruger 556E into a dedicated varmint rifle, mostly for prairie dogs, coyotes and possibly feral hogs. To that end I recently picked up a Vortex Diamondback 4x12 scope. Other than a bipod the rifle is stock. In this condition, I went to the range and after getting the scope/rifle zeroed, I shot 7 strings/ten rds each at 100 yds.

IMO, the results were satisfactory.

Best group measured .75 inches, dead center, 1.75 inches high of POA (from center of group). Largest group was 3.25 inches, 0.5 inch left of center, 1.5 inches high. Average group turned out to be about 1.8xx inches, 0.25xx inches left of center, about 1.5xx inches high.

Note: the trigger pull on this rifle is pretty heavy (according to Ruger about 8-9 lbs.). Time between shots averaged about 5-10 seconds.

Ammunition used: American Eagle .223 Varmint Tipped 50 gr.

All strings were shot from the bipod with a sandbag rest for the buttstock, from a bench.

When I increased the range to 200 yds, the groups opened up considerably. I won't bore everyone with all the numbers, but my best group turned out to be a 3 inch group about 0.5 inch right of center, 0.5 inches high of POA. The average of the strings was around 4 inches across.

Now to my questions: