The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old June 2, 2009, 09:30 PM   #1
Thermodyne

577-450 1886 Martini Enfield long lever.

Any one here shooting these? I spent the winter restoring one and as soon as the Dies come in so I can correctly load some ammo I'm going to give it a go. Might use a vise and a long string for the first few rounds.

I found some loaded ammo, but it is .450 lead and this rifle like many of it contemporaries takes .458 paper patched rounds. And while I have the bullets pulled I was thinking of replacing the ffg with Pyrodex. Any opinions on this?
Old June 3, 2009, 12:30 AM   #2
Scorch

I have had some experience loading paper patched bullets for BP (mine was a 1871 Mauser in 11mm Mauser). I tried Pyrodex and then quit using it due to inconsistent ignition, and the fouling being harder to clean than BP. With the newer BP substitutes like Pioneer Gold powder, I bet you could successfully make the switch from BP. I have also heard it is easier to clean up and less fouling.

Paper patching cast bullets was not a major issue, it just takes time and patience. You just need to make sure you are not shooting in an area where the smoldering paper can start a grass fire. If it were me, I would just use lube-sized cast bullets.
Old June 3, 2009, 01:10 AM   #3
Thermodyne