The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old December 9, 2009, 08:25 AM   #1
chrismacdonald

Tactical Drils and shot log & tracking performance

I am new to firearms training and I am looking for some handgun drills that I can complete and work on while at the range. At the same time I would like to be able to track my usage and record my results on these drills.

Is there anything out there with details for tactical drills or simply "how to's". At the same time I would like a simple way to "score" my performance and track what I am doing as well as how I may get better.

Any help would be great.

Thanks!
Old December 9, 2009, 09:30 AM   #2
SigSauerIsBetter

Have you checked out RangeLog.com

More than 100 drills (some with video) that can be integrated into your shot log. Shot Logs can be scored (hit/miss, time based, goal based, IPSC or IDPA). You can also to choose from advanced data fields to capture like (Target type, size, distance, # of draws, lighting, and more).

It takes your personal firearms makes & models (over 5,000 in the system), the shooting ranges you use (over 3,000 U.S. & International ranges).

You can check it out at http://www.rangelog.com.
Old December 9, 2009, 09:42 AM   #3
Maximus856

Theres a few good ones that apply to handguns and rifles. As far as tracking your results, you can keep it simple and just fill out information on your actual targets (date, firearm used, drill used, climate etc.) and keep them, or you can keep track of scores via logbook. Some good drills to do for self defense are box drills, speed reloads, failure to stop drills, drawing from the holster or from the controlled carry, and if the range permits movement drills. The last one should only be done if you're completely confident in your abilities, if it can be done in a safe environment, and if the range permits.