The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 5, 2004, 10:15 PM   #1
rustylp

idea's for .243win

Hi my name is rusty im new at reloading and was wondering if anybody had any tips they might like to share. I bought a savage 110 for deer hunting and just thought i try somthing new so i bought some hodgons H414 and new win cartrages unprimed. Also i got some cci 200 large primers, im using 42gr of powder for a 80gr nosler bolistic tips
Old October 6, 2004, 08:00 AM   #2
Tom Matiska

Nosler does list that bullet as a "Varmint" Bullet, and list the heavier 90gr Ballistic Tip (as well as the partions) as "hunting" bullets. You can get some amazing kills using varmint loads on deer, but the ratio of purple jelly to edible meat may not be good, and if you have a chance of scoring a larger buck I'd consider at least the 90 BT or 95 Partition.

IMR 4350 has been my choice for the heavier end of the 243 range. I haven't loaded the light end in years because my experience with cranking the lightweights up too high was too much jacket fouling vs too little shooting.
Old October 6, 2004, 12:32 PM   #3
.45 Vet

A lot ,(most), of my shooting friends feel that .243 is too light for white-tail in Western Pa. On the other hand, every hunting member of my family has taken a deer with the .243.

Am away from my bench,(vacation), so can't provide specifics, but have to agree with Tom about 4350 for powder. IMR or Hogden under a 105gr. "ROUND-NOSE" bullet, somewhere around 2600/2700fps.

Good Luck, after deer season, you might try dropping down to a 65/80 gr. bullet for a little ground-hog practice...

I like H-380 for the lighter bullets in .243.
Old October 6, 2004, 02:43 PM   #4
rustylp

high speed