The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old June 8, 2008, 07:44 AM   #1
CDH

NECESSARY Tools for Building an AR-15

I know this info is probably here somewhere, buried within many threads, but I can't seem to find the simple answer in one place. So please be patient...

I have a Bushmaster all original DCM that's never been fired. I bought it directly from Bushmaster.
But over time, I've decided I don't want to have to worry about corrosion of the barrel (which is why I've never fired it... I just oil it once in a while).

So what I'm doing is to buy (from Bushmaster direct) a 16" Carbine barrel assembly, a naked A3 upper, and the Command Arms CBS6 (FBS-CBSK) telestock to replace the original fixed stock.

I'll buy the tools I need to do this, but I'm hoping someone can tell me only what I "need" to do this because I don't want to put a bunch of money into tools I'll rarely use.

Additional thought:
I'm using the original bolt with the new barrel so I assume I have to headspace them. Do I need just a "no go" gauge or do I need them all?

Thanks all
Old June 8, 2008, 08:13 AM   #2
Creature

Want to sell the fixed stock? I have been looking for one for awhile now.

PM me if you do.

Last edited by Creature; June 8, 2008 at 12:35 PM.
Old June 8, 2008, 02:07 PM   #3
DnPRK

Receiver block
Multi-wrench
Punch set
Hammer
Hollow ground screwdrivers
Also get a small package of silver anti-seize from your local auto parts store for about $2 to prevent the barrel nut from galling the upper receiver threads.

A torque wrench is used in conjunction with the barrel nut wrench to get the 35 foot-pounds minimum torque but not exceed the 80 ft-lbs that can crack or permanently twist the upper receiver.
Old June 8, 2008, 04:52 PM   #4
CDH