The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old January 6, 2010, 12:26 PM   #1
precision_shooter

Got my first buck December, 2009.

I've been hunting Whitetail for about 7 years now. I don't have a lease but have been luck enough to have friends with land that let me hunt. Some have a no buck rule for visitors which is fine with me. I got invited to go to a friends place with no restrictions on what I could shoot. Needless to say, I was very excited. I ended up seeing nothing for 2 days straight and then got this guy on the last afternoon.

Not huge by any means but I think it's pretty respectable for my 1st one. Shot him at about 85 yards using my Tikka T3 lite in .308 using Hornady 150gr. SST's. Live weight was 152 lbs and had an inside spread of just over 14 inches.
"Laws that forbid the carrying of arms...disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes...Such laws make things worse for the assaulted and better for the assailants; they serve rather to encourage than to prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with greater confidence than an armed man." - Thomas Jefferson, 1776
Old January 6, 2010, 01:00 PM   #2
simonkenton

Congratulations! Good shot!

That photo isn't coming up.
Old January 6, 2010, 01:22 PM   #3
9mm1033

I can't see the photo, but congratulations. I wish rifles were allowed in Ohio. Sometimes they are just too far out of range and we have to let the good ones go.
Old January 6, 2010, 01:25 PM   #4
precision_shooter

Thanks guys. I love deer hunting and I think I have the buck fever that everyone talks about when they shoot their first decent buck.

Attached pic for those that can't see it.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf buck1.pdf (301.0 KB, 139 views)