The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 27, 2014, 06:03 PM   #1
DryFire45

Rookie reassurance

Hey guys/gals im brand new to the reloading scene and looking for a little feedback on what ive done so far. I tend to be somewhat overly cautious so id appreciate some reassurance from some veterans. Ive only loaded a handful and have not tested them at the range yet. I will be as specific as possible.

So far I have loaded 20 rounds. I use a Lee 4 hole turret press set up for 9mm with all 4 slots being used and the last station being a factory crimp die. I'm loading berrys 115gr copper plated round nose(.356) on top of a charge of accurate no7. My Lee manual states the start grains for that intended finished cartridge is 5.7gr(never exceed 6.7) and the correct auto disc being .37..im not 100% sure but my scale consistently reads 5.3gr with that disc. I loaded them to an OAL of 1.50/1.51, minimum being 1.40, in mixed head stamp brass with CCI 500 primers. What do you guys think about these finished rounds? My intentions were for a mild range target round. All responses are appreciated.
Old October 27, 2014, 06:18 PM   #2
wogpotter

Its going to be wimpy as its below the minimum. It'll probably be dirty for the same reason.
Mid range will be 1/2 way between MIN & MAX, by definition.

Elderly Hunter: “That's dashed unsporting. Probably Belgium.”
Old October 27, 2014, 06:53 PM   #3
DryFire45

Other than a light charge, how does everything else sound? Also to be a tad more specific, im loading for a glock 26.
Old October 27, 2014, 07:41 PM   #4
Shotgun Slim