The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old July 6, 2014, 01:57 PM   #1
gyvel

Opinions on Leupold Scopes

OK, guys, in your experiences are some Leupold scopes better than others.

By that, I mean are there any turkeys hiding in the bushes?
Old July 6, 2014, 02:06 PM   #2
603Country

I'm a Leupold scope fan, though I have some Burris, Bushnell, and Vortex. Most of my scopes are '3's' as in VariX-III and VX3, and I've had only great luck with them. I have one VX2 on a 223 and it's very nice also, though I do now know that I prefer the VX3. I have no experience with VX1's or the Rifleman scope lines.

I just sent two of my older scopes off to Leupold for new reticles. Turnaround time was short and they refreshed some of the scope innards. They have been great to work with.
Old July 6, 2014, 03:13 PM   #3
HiBC

Pretty much same as 603.

I have only used the level 3 scopes,and have been very happy.One of my favorites is an FX 3 6x by 42 mm.

Ditto on customer service.

I have tried a number of over $200 scopes of other brands,tying to get off cheap.Most have ended up being given away,or laying on a shelf,replaced with a Leupold.

Not saying there are no other good scopes,of course there are,but if I buy an upper line Leupold,I know I'm done.
Old July 6, 2014, 03:15 PM   #4
wogpotter

Just watch out for the Chinese counterfeits!

Elderly Hunter: “That's dashed unsporting. Probably Belgium.”
Old July 6, 2014, 04:56 PM   #5
Peter M. Eick

Same as above.

I buy all VXIII and was given a VXII. Never had a problem, like the quality and they have never had an issue. Great investments.
Old July 6, 2014, 05:44 PM   #6
gyvel