The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old July 30, 2012, 08:46 PM   #1
BoogieMan

Lightest possible 20ga load

By lightest I am referring to recoil. Took my 7y/o daughter to launch skeet for me and her brothers this weekend. She got bored quickly and insisted on trying it. No youth gun with me so I shouldered the old BPS and she swung and pulled the trigger. Now she is hooked. I have an 870 wingmaster youth lightweight. Was mine than my sons. He outgrew it and just moved into a Browning Gold. Anyway I want to let my daughter try the Rem 20ga. It has a soft recoil pad but the 7/8oz low brass I have still packs a pretty good wallop for someone who isnt 60lbs yet. I dont want to buy a 410 or 28 I want her to learn on the gun I started with. Any suggestions? If I find someone willing to reload for me how low of a load can I go? I dont want her to develop a flinch or get scared of guns.
Your tactics suck"
- Unknown
Old July 30, 2012, 09:26 PM   #2
Smitty in CT

Fioccchi "20LITE" Trainer

3/4 oz
1050 fps

Very soft shooting rounds...

They won't cycle most autoloaders, but that won't be an issue for a while...

"The object of war is not to die for your country, but to make the other bastard die for his." -- Gen. George Patton
Old July 31, 2012, 06:02 AM   #3
BoogieMan

Thanks. I am going to go check with my LGS today. Hopefully I can grab a box to try out.
Your tactics suck"
- Unknown
Old July 31, 2012, 09:47 AM   #4
Bailey Boat

If you're a reloader, Claybuster is now producing a 20 ga, 3/4 oz wad that has proven itself to reduce recoil without any noticeable reduction in effectivness. I switched to the 3/4 oz loads before they produced the wads and just lived with the dished crimps when using 7/8 oz wads. With the new wads the crimps are perfect and my skeet scores haven't dropped at all.....
Old August 1, 2012, 06:01 AM   #5
BoogieMan