The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 1, 2016, 07:54 PM   #1
rebs

JHP load data

I have a couple hundred 158 gr JHP bullets to load in 38 & 357 magnum. Does anyone have a decent load for these ? They will be fired in a S&W model 19 with a 4" barrel.
Old September 1, 2016, 08:36 PM   #2
SHR970

Lots of loads to be had w/ W296, 2400, 4227, Lil Gun, AA#9, AA#7, etc. etc. etc. ad nauseum.

What powders do you have on hand? Loads don't have to be balls out to be good loads.
Old September 1, 2016, 09:54 PM   #3
rebs

I have bullseye, unique, 231,2400 and WST
Just looking for some decent practice and self defense loads, your right they do not have to be full house hot loads. Comfortable enough to practice with and warm enough for self defense.
Old September 1, 2016, 10:40 PM   #4
Nick_C_S

Quote:
I have bullseye, unique, 231,2400 and WST
I have no experience with WST. But of the remainders, Unique and 2400 would be the best choices. I'm a fast powder centric loader, yet I will tell you that Bullseye and W231 are unacceptable choices for the application - they're just too darn fast and would be seriously flirting with pressure spikes.

Quote:
Just looking for some decent practice and self defense loads, your right they do not have to be full house hot loads. Comfortable enough to practice with and warm enough for self defense.
Unique can give you the practice; 2400 can give you the full-house self-defense. In 357 Magnum, Unique does much better with lighter bullets. I use it quite a bit for 125's. But it can drive 158's to decent velocities.