The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 2, 2014, 06:58 PM   #1
Micro man

cleaning cases

I am fairly new to reloading and was considering cleaning my cases before reloading. My budget is limited as well. I have read comments in favor of both a tumbler and a ultrasonic cleaner and am unsure of the way to go with my limited finances. Any advice would be appreciated.
Old October 2, 2014, 07:03 PM   #2
243winxb

citric acid

See posts by unclenick http://www.thehighroad.org/showthrea...ight=unclenick
Old October 2, 2014, 07:05 PM   #3
jepp2

Case cleaning can be as simple as wiping them off prior to sizing. This protects your dies, and cost nothing but a bit of time.

You can probably go with an inexpensive case tumbler as the next lowest cost option (considering equipment and supplies). Slightly more expensive would be the Lyman 1200 turbo tumbler. Cost around $50 if you shop around. Will last for many years.
Old October 2, 2014, 07:40 PM   #4
Bart B.

Wiping off fired cases is OK, but I suggest using some naptha (lighter fluid) on the rag. That'll do a better job of taking off any grit that the die may have on it. Unless that grit's removed, it'll gall your die.

It's also a good idea to run a bore brush in the fired case mouths first to get rid of a lot of powder residue and make the expander ball in your dies come back up through easier.
Old October 2, 2014, 07:50 PM   #5
t45

My Lyman case tumbler is one of my prized reloading tools....
Old October 2, 2014, 10:35 PM   #6
sawdustdad

I've been using my RCBS vibratory case cleaner with walnut hull media for years. Works great.
Old October 3, 2014, 09:18 AM   #7
catgunguy

I wash mine in a solution of citric acid and Dawn soap in a bucket.