The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old February 16, 2012, 02:58 PM   #1
Nathan

Technique details . . .book?

Just having some struggles with nitty gritty details related to fast shooting.

Are there any books you reccomend for something like this? Most of what I read doesn't deal with exact trigger pull secrets, exact grip, stance, etc secrets. There is a lot of try it and find what works for you.

I have a trigger pull technique that I use. I'll try to explain it to give you an idea of what I'm looking for.

I have been shooting pretty regularly for almost 30 years. Through that time, especially learning, I had some bad triggers. So, I kind of learned to deal with them.

At first, I was shooting a rifle. I would get my hold down to minimal movement and squeeze the trigger slow until i surprise broke. I got pretty good at that, but realized that my accuracy still left something to be desired. ~1.5" position groups with a WW2 30'06 conversion. Good enough, but I could feel the trigger breaking when I was not on target.

So then I decided. . .over many years of frustration, breathing, slow squeezes, hard holds, etc that I really needed to know exactly when my trigger breaks and at that moment, I need the sights on target.

I also realized that I needed a way to not feel creep, crap, overtravel, grit in a trigger pull. The key here is all triggers have a speed which the feel best when you pull them. After 1000's of dry fires, I can get to this best feel in about 50 pulls with a new gun. I have super 1911 triggers through 12lb S&W DA, heavy Kahr striker triggers, AR 2 stage, Savage accutrigger. . .So this works for all.

When you get the best feel speed nailed, you have to know exactly when in that stroke it is breaking. When you know that, you know the key.