The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old October 14, 2004, 09:28 AM   #1
goldbull

Rem 870 Marine Magnum versatility

Newbie here. Just took delivery of new 870 marine magnum which I purchased primarily for home defense. How versatile is this shotgun for hunting purposes? I would like to use it if possible for deer and pheasant. Will it accept alternate barrels, chokes, mods, etc? I would like to get as much utility out of this sg as possible and don't have $ for several shotguns. Did I make an OK choice of sg? Please forgive my ignorance; I want to learn as much as possible about this sg and this forum seems very good to my novice eyes. Wish I'd known about it before purchase, but hindsight is 20-20.
Old October 14, 2004, 10:50 AM   #2
WillBrayjr

you did good by getting a remington 870, but you picked the wrong model! you're better off the standard express model, considering what you'll be using it for. the marine magnum is used for defense and i don't think you can put different barrels on it. if you get the express model all you need then is two additional barrels, then you will have a shotgun that will do everything.
Old October 14, 2004, 12:52 PM   #3
MrAcheson

Probably should have asked for advice before you bought the gun. Oh well like you said about hindsight. The Marine Magnum is a good gun and I gave serious thought to buying one myself. Like you I wanted it for defense. I ended up with a Mossberg 590 instead, but thats me.