The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old July 25, 2000, 06:48 PM   #1
Xero

00 Buck is the standard defensive load. It's 0.33" dia. and you get about 9 pellets in a 12 gauge load. Number 1 Buck is 0.30" dia. and you get about 16 pellets.

I like the idea of "30 cal." and nearly twice the pellets. Whay say you?
Old July 25, 2000, 07:16 PM   #2
J. Parker

Xero; I'm no expert but from what I've read it seems #4 buck might be a good load for home defense. The concensus is #00 buck might over-penetrate. Some prefer birdshot. I must tell you a story- My buddy and I were out blowing stuff up one day and I've got to tell you birdshot was a sorry penetrator on very lightly constructed targets. So, I'm not a fan of birdshot for home defense. When I'm out camping I stok my Rem 870 HD with #00 buck or slugs. Just my thoughts, J. Parker
Old July 25, 2000, 08:39 PM   #3
Dave McC
Staff In Memoriam

Six of one, half dozen of the other. What I suggest is patterning with both and going with the tightest, assuming it's zeroed.

I use 00 because I still have plenty left from work.It patterns well in my 870.
Old July 26, 2000, 08:05 AM   #4
Alfadog

I think #1 is probably slightly better in terms of wound ballistics, but how dead do the bad guys have to be? I use 00 in my HD shotgun because it is available in the "Reduced Recoil" or "Tactical" loadings, which are much more pleasant to fire. I have read that these loads are also available in #4 Buck, but have never seen them. Either way, I think whatever slight reduction in "stopping power" is suffered by going from #1 to 00 or #4 RR/Tactical loads is well worth it for the noticeable reduction in recoil.

That said, I think the ultimate 12 gauge home defense load would be a Tactical/RR #1 Buck with plated, buffered shot and low muzzle flash like Winchester's Reduced Recoil load.

------------------
Alfadog
NRA Life Member

"DO NOT TAKE COUNSEL OF YOUR FEARS."