The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 12, 2010, 01:44 AM   #1
Lavid2002

20 ga. Slug reloading

I am just getting into casting. I figure if I can cast boolits I can cast slugs right? I have had my eye on a H&R Tracker 2 for a while now, I think I want a 20 Ga. slug gun for messing around with, and deer hunting. My questions are...

*What do you prefer 12 ga or 20 ga?

*What can I use for 20 ga slugs? A slug mold and a regular wad that would be used for shotshell...or do i need a special *Sabot* wad?

-Dave
Old May 12, 2010, 08:09 AM   #2
Unclenick
Staff

I prefer the 12 partly because I am used to it and partly because a lot more commercial loads are available for it. Lots of cheap stuff shows up in the fall for informal clay bird work, though slugs are not usually included in that economy category.

You don't need a sabot unless you want to shoot a reduced diameter projectile.

I believe Lyman has (or had) a 350 grain (0.8 ounce) 20 ga. mold? You might call them? Should be a good thumper.

Edit: The Lyman mold seems to be available at this place. I've not done business with them, but the drawings are clear so you can at least get a look. It's kind of like a giant airgun pellet, with a skirt that expands under pressure to engage rifling in a rifled slug gun barrel. It would not want a sabot around it if it is to do that? It might not even want a wad under it for most uniform skirt expansion and best accuracy? I can't imagine a wad jammed into the base with imperfect symmetry could help accuracy, but I've not loaded these myself and should let someone who has experience with them address that. Perhaps it is a good application for Puf-lon buffer or some such material?
NRA Benefactor Member and Golden Eagle

Last edited by Unclenick; May 12, 2010 at 08:23 AM.
Old May 12, 2010, 01:40 PM   #3
snuffy