The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 31, 2013, 06:07 PM   #1
JefferS

Do you use lead data for Rainier Bullets?

I'm still a novice, but I've had some overall success. I've looked at other threads and didn't find this question directly answered, so I hope I didn't miss it and repeated an answered question.

I was told by someone with just a little more experience than I have that for Rainier plated bullets (as opposed to jacketed), you use similar lead bullet load starting and max points.

My specific case is that I am loading 38 Special with Bullseye. 3.4 to 4.2 grain with Hornady XTP 158 gr JHP (#35750) with 1.445 OAL seemed reasonably accurate. I changed my crimp a bit and need to go back to the range and check those.

Now, I have obtained some Rainer 158 gr Round Nose. Not a lot to choose from these days, so I got what I could. So would I use data from, say, the Lyman 49th edition for lead, which has a starting point with Bullseye at 3.0 and max fo 3.4?
Old May 31, 2013, 06:33 PM   #2
Ashbane

I am also just starting so until someone who knows better comes along I can just say I bought some Berry's bullets and was told something similar, that they are copper plated and to use the lead bullet section of the manual. I did, however find load data from Hogdgon's website that specifically referred to the powder I was using to the bullet I had. I also found Hornady's book limited in info and in the Lee book Modern Reloading found they actually list copper plated bullets in addition to the lead and jacketed, etc...

Hope this helps...
Old May 31, 2013, 07:25 PM   #3
rg1

Check this info and compare it to other 115 grain data, both lead and jacketed: http://cakesniffer.org/stuff/boom/RanierData.pdf
Doesn't have .38 Special data but it might answer your question about using lead bullet data to compare to Rainier bullets.