The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old September 3, 2013, 08:58 AM   #1
BoogieMan

250gr HP XTP for Whitetail

This is kind of a carry over from my muzzleloader post. Thing is I came into a fair amount of these bullets. I plan on using them with a Sabot from the ML and also loading them down a bit (21gr of power pistol) in my 460sw. Both guns are low volume shooting guns. Basically I sighted them in and give them a occasional shot to keep them and myself tuned. This is my first year using them in either weapon. I have never and never want to loose a deer. IMO its irisponsable for a hunter to shoot and not harvest. Its what my father taught me and what I am passing to my kids.
Has anyone had experience harvesting deer with a 250gr HP XTP around 1800fps?
Your tactics suck"
- Unknown
Old September 3, 2013, 10:01 AM   #2
Wild Bill Bucks

If you keep the velocity in that range they will work fine, but if you load to full 2300fps of the .460, they may be a bit fragile. If you are going to load full loads, the SST would be a better choice.

Since you have come upon a stock of XTP's I would not hesitate to use them on about anything you would want to hunt with a 250 grain bullet. I have killed lot's of game with them from yotes to Hogs, and they work fine.
Old September 3, 2013, 10:31 AM   #3
NoSecondBest