The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old May 18, 2013, 04:20 PM   #1
Bobbob

Hand me down shotgun questions

Hello, let me first say I am mostly a novice when it comes to firearms. I have been given a 12 gauge shotgun passed down from my grandpa. I have no ammo, and am a bit confused about what to get.

This is what the gun has stamped on it "12 gauge - 3 IN - modified". So I thought 3" shells is what I need, but what could the "modified" part mean? I guess it's a smaller brand, at least not one I've heard of, just says "Made in Brazil by CBC". But again, I'm a novice.

Also, I've been told 00 Buckshot is what I want for maximum power for home defense. Sound right?

Thanks!
Old May 18, 2013, 04:29 PM   #2
g.willikers

The modified refers to the choke or restriction at the muzzle end of the barrel.
Here's an explanation of chokes:
http://www.chuckhawks.com/shotgun_chokes.htm
Most folks do choose buckshot for defense, mostly 000 or 00.
Here's an explanation of shotgun ammo:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shotgun_shell
Old May 18, 2013, 04:47 PM   #3
Orphanedcowboy

Re: Hand me down shotgun questions

While you're buying ammo, might as well buy a soft slip on recoil pad, 3" buckshot will be stiff on recoil.

3" 00 buck will be a great HD load for a modified choked gun.

Is this a single shot by chance that looks like this:

Old May 18, 2013, 05:23 PM   #4
gunut

BTW....3in means that 3in hells are the longest shells to be used in the gun...you can use shorter shells [2 3/4in] .....which I would recommend because they have less recoil [kick],,.......by all means learn how to handle the gun safely b4 you go loading it up....
Old May 18, 2013, 05:24 PM   #5
Bobbob

Thanks for the links G. Willikers, I'll check those out.