The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old August 30, 2015, 08:17 AM   #1
inchrisin

NPOA horizontal sway

Hi all,

I'm new to shooting and this will be my first post on TFL. I've shot in prone position a few times and I've been told to practice my natural point of aim. It's said that the cross hair should move up and down. It does. There's also a little bit of a sway to the cross hair that moves left and right. Is normal? I'm hoping to find ways to limit/eliminate this.
Old August 30, 2015, 09:42 AM   #2
g.willikers

Welcome to the forum.
Natural Point of Aim only helps you find the best alignment of body to target.
And to remove body stress induced sighting errors.
There's bound to be some apparent movement of the reticle in any scope with magnification.
It can be minimized with good technique, but will always be there to some degree.
Scope magnification exaggerates it.
At least as long as you have a heart beat and are still breathing.
And why some folks still prefer iron sights.
Old August 30, 2015, 09:55 AM   #3
Mike38