The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old April 14, 2015, 11:26 AM   #1
Magnum Wheel Man

Tuckable hybred holsters... yeh or ney ???

I've always carried OWB strong side ( over 10 years now ), & been wearing untucked shirts for long before I started carrying, so anyone that knows me, knows it's normal... I am a manager though, & thought I should get a couple holsters I could tuck a shirt if needed or wanted... trouble is, I don't really like a tucked shirt, throw in an inside waistband holster, & I'm really uncomfortable... add to that, I'm "middle aged" & getting the affliction that hits many of us, where I have no butt, & getting a bigger belly... so my belt needs to be tight enough top hold up my pants I'm thinking a couple sets of nicer suspenders to help hold up my now looser belt from IWB carry...

just wondering how you get your shirt tucked in, reasonably smoothly around a "tuckable" holster, & what you do for comfortable carry??? seems I need to move the holster further back, or sitting down is a big pain in the side??? ... maybe it's just something I need to get used to ???
Old April 14, 2015, 11:40 AM   #2
Cheapshooter

I have Theis Holster's IWB Hybrid holster for several of my CCW options. I generally don't tuck in my shirt, but it isn't hard to do. But with the standard clips it does leave the two clips visible on your belt. If that is the way you must carry, then the "J" clip option offered by other makers may be better as most of the clip is hidden by the belt with that system.
Although they are comfortable, they can chafe against bare skin a bit. One thing that I found to relieve this, and make the holster nearly unnoticeable to the wearer is to always wear an under shirt of some kind. Even with my most often dress, T shirt and jeans, a "Beater" under a T shirt makes for very comfortable carry.
Cheapshooter's rules of gun ownership #1: NEVER SELL OR TRADE ANYTHING!