The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old October 19, 2015, 10:40 PM   #1
Northslope Nimrod

Best elk cartridges for under 100 yards?

I'm looking to buy or build a light weight mountain rifle for elk hunting. All my shots should be under 100 yards. 99% of them will be within 70 yards. When I hunt in areas with longer ranges, I will carry my Remington 700 30-06 or my DPMS AR-10 in .308. Neither are particularly light.
I'm wanting something extremely light and short. The .308 seems like another good option but I want to consider all cartridges. (I'm thinking bolt action as a first choice, then semi-auto, then lever....but no single shots)
Old October 19, 2015, 10:54 PM   #2
Radny97

I've been hunting elk for many years and if you can get within 100 yards for a good clean shot then kudos to you. That is no small feat. At that point you should probably be using a bow, muzzle loader or handgun. At those distances a rifle takes all the challenge out of it. If you insist on a rifle, pick almost anything from 357 mag and up. At those distances the particular bullet construction matters more than the caliber.
Old October 19, 2015, 11:04 PM   #3
Kosh75287

I'd want a lever-action Marlin chambered for any of the lever action cartridges over .40 caliber. I guess at 100 yards, a .35 Remington would be enough, but I'd want something more powerful in .35 caliber, like a BLR in .358 Winchester. And the old M71 Winchester in .348 would also work well.

انجلو. المسلحة. جاهزة. Carpe SCOTCH!
Old October 19, 2015, 11:27 PM   #4
big al hunter