The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 22, 2017, 12:08 AM   #1
ADClope

How to choose powder throw and COL?

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to this, and had a couple questions that I haven't really found a definitive answer to, probably because everyone has their own "preference" I'm assuming...

But I was wondering how you choose the powder measurement and the COL. My manuals give a "starting load" and a "max load" and they also give a max COL. But how do you choose the load? And how do you choose the COL as the load could be anywhere in between and the COL just needs to be < specified length.

If this is a stupid question I apologize lol, but I've been trying to figure this one out.

Thanks!
Old January 22, 2017, 12:52 AM   #2
ss30378

Start loads are there to assure good ignition of powders and make sure you don't have a squib. With some ball powders like h110 leaving too much airspace by using a light charge in the case can cause erratic ignition leading to issues. Also too light of a load in autoloaders may not cycle a slide.

Max loads in most books are taken up to or just shy of industry spec for the round. Cartridge oal is usually listed as a minimum length and by going shorter you will increase pressure. Maximum length you can go is generally limited to what the magazine will fit and what will fully chamber in the barrel. Going longer than spec if possible has usually lower pressures but also lowers velocities of a given charge.

I usually start my load process by making a dummy round of the longest I can load a bullet in my gun which is usually longer than minimum length then start in between start and max loads with my powder charge. Most accurate loads seem to be just shy of book max but only testing will tell you.
Old January 22, 2017, 01:42 AM   #3
DaleA

You'll get better answers if you give more information.

What cartridge are you loading for?