The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 26, 2013, 01:58 AM   #1
deepforks

case sizing wax

so i thought i'd give wax a try since i've never used it before. i don't think i've ever heard a bad review about imperial, but i'm curious how the hornady sizing wax compares to it.

the same, better, worse?
Old February 26, 2013, 01:04 PM   #2
Unclenick
Staff

Hornady Unique lube seems to work about as well. At least, I can't really tell a big difference in performance. It's a heck of a lot cheaper. Unlike most reports, I have stuck a couple of extremely tight cases before when using Imperial, so I don't consider it a 100% guarantee of perfect performance. I've never stuck one with Unique, but then I haven't run nearly as many cases with it, so time will tell.
NRA Benefactor Member and Golden Eagle
Old February 26, 2013, 01:39 PM   #3
rogn

I find that sizing effort with large, expanded, difficult to size cases is noticeably harder with Imperial than many other lubes. Plain old Kiwi Mink oil reduces effort say on 300WSM FL by more than 50%. It also doesnt take much, just a smear. I have been generally underwhelmed with Imperial.
Old February 26, 2013, 01:49 PM   #4
huntinaz

I have only used the Hornady unique wax, but I have been happy with it.
Old February 26, 2013, 02:13 PM   #5
GeauxTide

Have both, use both. Excellent. Imperial is more expensive.
Old February 26, 2013, 03:51 PM   #6
chris in va

Thousands of 223 and 30-06 with Unique, no stuck cases.

On a side note it seems to be almost identical to the Silicone grease used for rubber drysuit gaskets.
Old February 26, 2013, 07:22 PM   #7
jcwit

Unique works very well as does Mink Oil from the shoe dept.
Old February 26, 2013, 10:47 PM   #8
deepforks

thanks fellas!
Old February 27, 2013, 09:21 AM   #9
F. Guffey