The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 12, 2010, 12:46 AM   #1
pig_romancer

147 grain tumbleville.... need advice

Friends,

I'm just getting into hand-loading and I've found this site to be very informative. I've put some successful loads together that shoot great. I ran into a problem however that I just can't seem to fix. I'm loading 147 grain (.356) hard cast for a hi-point 995 carbine. I'm pushing it with 3.8 grains of Power Pistol to keep it at around 900fps. My OAL is at 1.150 Almost every round I fire tumbles at under 10 yards. I have not slugged the barrel but it seems like every 147 grain hard-cast with wax ring is sized for .356 anyway. I would need to load bullets intended for a .38 in order to get something bigger. My barrel is shiny clean inside and this rifle eats and fires everything else (jacked) just fine.

Question: Do I need to buy bigger bullets; perhaps .358 diameter?
Should max out my OAL instead?
Different powder or measure?
Stick with jacked/plated bullets only?

Thanks for your help
Old February 12, 2010, 09:41 AM   #2
SL1

It would help if you would mention the cartidge that you are reloading - - not everybody knows what a HiPoint 995 shoots. I am surmizing that it is a 9mm from your COL and bullet diameter. But, I still don't know the length or even the shape of your bullet, so I can only begin to guess the seating depth, which I need to estimate pressure.