The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 22, 2009, 10:21 PM   #1
rdjordan

Bulge near base of the case after firing

I am new to reloading, and I have loaded some .270s and went to shoot them today. They shot fine but i started noticing the cases had a slight bulge near the base of the case. I checked other factory cases that I have been shooting and there is no bulge on them. (I was thinking maybe it was a chamber problem)

The loads shouldn't be even near max loads. Using Winchester brass, CCI 200 primers, Nosler 130gr Accubond, and Hodgdon Hybrid 100V.

Anybody got any ideas on what my problem could be??

Also, will those cases that have the bulge be salvagable?

Thanks, Durham
Old January 22, 2009, 11:02 PM   #2
Shoney

rdjordanWELCOMR to TFL!!!

What was the charge weight?

Were the start loads you worked up from observed to have this bulge?
I pledge allegiance to the Flag - - -, and to the Republic for which it stands….Our Forefathers were brilliant for giving us a Republic, not a democracy! Do you know the difference??? and WHY?http://www.wallbuilders.com/LIBissue...les.asp?id=111
Old January 22, 2009, 11:06 PM   #3
rdjordan

I started with 52grs and I also shot some 53grs before I ran out of time. It looks like the 53gr loads were no worse than the 52gr loads. I have already loaded some 54 and 55gr loads and I can shoot them to see if the bulge gets worse.
Old January 22, 2009, 11:17 PM   #4
Shoney

IF YOU HAVE A PROBLEM, IT IS UNWISE TO FIRE HEAVIER LOADS UNTIL YOU FIND OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM IS AT THE LOWER LOADS.

Could you please list all the particulars andcan you include a picture?

Rifle, age, barrel length -

COL =
I pledge allegiance to the Flag - - -, and to the Republic for which it stands….Our Forefathers were brilliant for giving us a Republic, not a democracy! Do you know the difference??? and WHY?http://www.wallbuilders.com/LIBissue...les.asp?id=111