The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 19, 2013, 05:11 PM   #1
bedbugbilly

?? Primers installed upside down . ..

I'm fairly new to reloading and SO FAR, haven't had a problem with a primer going in upside down (I'm loading 38 spls). I see something about this every once in a while where a problem happens and a primer gets flipped and installed upside down. I'm just asking for the sake of knowing IF I ever have it happen. What's the best way of removing an upside down primer?

I'm assuming that if you put the casing back in the press (assuming you caught it before it was loaded and you had to pull the slug and dump charge) that you could very carefully and GENTLY use the depriming die to push it back out. The anvil wouldn't have anything to press against to discharge it? Is this the best way to do it or maybe I should ask what is the SAFEST way to remove an upside down primer?

I don't think I have ever seen this addressed in the reloading books or maybe I've missed it. Thanks for the help - I plan on writing the solution down in my data/reloading notebook just so I can refer to it if need be.
If a pair of '51 Navies were good enough for Billy Hickok, then a single Navy on my right hip is good enough for me . . . besides . . . I'm probably only half as good as he was anyways. Hiram's Rangers Badge #63
Old October 19, 2013, 05:16 PM   #2
anotherred

I've done this plenty of times. Just sloooowy deprime and you'll be just fine. I've even remove a few that where seated correctly and the shell got damaged in the press.
Old October 20, 2013, 10:34 AM   #3
swmike

Same here, just slowly run it back through the sizing die.