The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > General Discussion Forum

Old August 3, 2016, 11:53 PM   #1
Alexsogh

NICS Backround Check Question

I am new to this Forum and figure this would be the best way to get some feedback. I have been a Florida resident since 2011 and have no Felonies on my record however I have been convicted of misdemeanor drug possession in 2008 and misdemeanor drug possession in 2012. Both arrests were originally charged as a felony however the dispositions of both cases are misdemeanor. There are no issues on my record since then and I would like to know if this would prevent me from passing a backroad check? Any info is appreciated, thank you.
Old August 4, 2016, 02:02 AM   #2
44 AMP
Staff

Welcome to the Firing Line!

First off, I do not know the answer you are looking for. Am not a lawyer, don't pretend to be one. For valid legal advice, PAY a lawyer.

A misdemeanor drug conviction MAY not be a deal breaker, IF it was long enough ago. However, I do not know how long is required. I have heard phrases like "within the last five years". Read the 4473 form, all the questions and their explanations. If you can't meet those, you can't legally buy a firearm.

It MAY be a 2012 conviction is too recent for you to be approved. IF so, keep your life clean and wait until the required time has passed, then apply.

Good Luck!
Old August 4, 2016, 12:54 PM   #3
redhologram

Go look at questions b, c and e on the 4473 and figure out your answers to them.
You can find a copy of the form online.
Good luck!
Old August 4, 2016, 01:03 PM   #4
BarryLee

FYI - https://www.atf.gov/file/61446/download
A major source of objection to a free economy is precisely that it ... gives people what they want instead of what a particular group thinks they ought to want. Underlying most arguments against the free market is a lack of belief in freedom itself.
- Milton Friedman
Old August 4, 2016, 01:21 PM   #5
Bartholomew Roberts