The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old August 19, 2013, 08:33 AM   #1
BoogieMan

Slugs 12 -vs- 20ga

I am looking for a rifled barrel for my S&W 1000 in 12ga. If I find one that will seal the deal for 12 ga. So far no luck so I may end up shopping for a Savage or Browning slug gun. I am new to slug guns and everyone I know who whoots a 12ga slug complains about the recoil. Seeing as I have no problem dropping whitetail with a 30 cal bullet I cant imagine that I would need more than a 20ga. I also hear that 20ga gets a little flatter shooting with greater accuracy and less recoil.
Is any of that true?
Is there good availability of slugs available in 20ga?
Your tactics suck"
- Unknown
Old August 21, 2013, 12:19 AM   #2
big al hunter

I was trying to decide between 20 and 12 for my slug gun a couple years ago. Ended up getting 12 ga. Mostly because I couldn't find a decent selection of slugs for 20. All any store had was foster slugs, in a couple brands. Every store I went in had 4 brands or more, and every slug I could imagine in 12 ga.

And for recoil and versatility I went with a TC Encore Prohunter. The stock has a flexible section that they claim reduces felt recoil 40%. I will say it comes really close to meeting the advertising. I get 1 1/2 inch groups at 100 yards with a couple kinds of sabot slugs. And I have the option of different barrels and calibers.
Old August 21, 2013, 08:18 AM   #3
hogdogs
Staff In Memoriam

12 gauge for selection alone... Ammo has never been as diverse in anything loaded for the 20...

Brent
Old August 21, 2013, 08:56 AM   #4
Doyle

Quote:
I also hear that 20ga gets a little flatter shooting with greater accuracy and less recoil.
I can agree on the less recoil. I'm not so sure about the flatter shooting.
Old August 21, 2013, 09:25 AM   #5
TimSr