The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 17, 2009, 04:14 PM   #1
kd5nay

problem necking down the .308 win

Hi all,
I have been reloading for a few years now but I recently purchased my first 7mm-08. I have all of the dies, bullets, etc....and a LOT of 308 win brass. Since the 7mm-08 is only a necked down 308 case I figured that I could just resize my 308 brass. I have read around on the internet and heard from many people that do just that.....however......when I tried doing this the die does not resize the neck all the way to the shoulder. Sooo...about 1/4 inch of the neck is resized perfectly but there is still about 1/8" of the neck right at the shoulder 'unsized.' i wish i had a picture but camera is broken. Anyone know how to get that last little bit?

Last edited by kd5nay; February 17, 2009 at 04:39 PM.
Old February 17, 2009, 04:54 PM   #2
IllinoisCoyoteHunter

is your die in all the way??

~NRA LIFE MEMBER~
~NRA CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR~
Old February 17, 2009, 05:05 PM   #3
jdscholer

Look at the case dimensions in your manual and you will see the problem. The 7mm is actually longer at the shoulder on up to the OAL. It will probably fire form to your chamber, but I'd want to hear it from someone who knows; I don't. jd
Old February 17, 2009, 06:15 PM   #4
FrankenMauser

I don't own a 7mm-08, nor have I ever formed cases for them.

You may need to create a false shoulder to headspace for fire-forming.

Since the .308 and -06 based cartridges use a datum point of .375" on the shoulder to headspace; one of the easiest ways to do this is to neck up to .35 caliber. (.358" plus a case wall thickness of 0.010-0.018" on each side, will give you .375" +)

Once you have expanded the neck to .35 caliber, you size back down to 7mm-08. The expanded portion should give you enough surface area to safely headspace.