The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Closed Thread

Old December 6, 2009, 10:07 AM   #1
pduff21

Gifting a handgun across state borders

My brother would like to give me a handgun he purchased but there are a few complicating factors. He is a resident of Indiana and is currently residing there. He is a lawyer so obviously wants to make sure it is done legitimately. I am a resident of Idaho currently residing in Ohio due to being a member of the Air Force. Does anyone know if he can just gift it to me legally (and if so, is paperwork necessary to provide a paper trail), or do we have to perform a transfer at a FFL dealer to make it legal? Basically, he want to make sure that in the case of something happening to the gun (theft, accident...) it can't hurt his career. As far as I can tell, the ATF and NRA sites don't go into too much depth on this subject. Thanks.
Old December 6, 2009, 10:19 AM   #2
Tommy Vercetti

you can ship it from your gunshop to his, they won't do this for free but then you won't get in trouble, nor will he
Old December 6, 2009, 10:23 AM   #3
zoomie

I'm not a lawyer...

You don't have residency in his state (IN), so he can't gift it to you. Probably the cleanest way is for him to give you the money and you buy it for yourself.

edit: I mean he can't gift it to you man to man or under the Christmas tree. You have to go through the FFL in your state of residence.

Last edited by zoomie; December 6, 2009 at 09:47 PM.
Old December 6, 2009, 10:33 AM   #4
CCGS

From dealer to dealer, + the cost of shipping. FFL will usually charge you 20-40 bucks on each end and the shipping will be 20-30.
Old December 6, 2009, 11:10 AM   #5
orionengnr

First off, thank you for your service to our great Country.