The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 20, 2009, 09:44 AM   #1
ccw08

Best Load Data Book?

I know I know, this is a Ford VS Chevy post lol

I am going to buy a new Load Manual since I have been using the caliber specific load data books and they are great but I want to be able to look up more calibers.

What book do you guys prefer the most? I know most of you have a couple different you like, please let me know which ones and why.

I am kinda new to reloading, I bought the individual caliber books because they are easy to navigate, now that I have been loading alot more I want to get a couple more calibers so I need a GOOD load data book.
Old December 20, 2009, 09:57 AM   #2
Hook686

I like the Lyman manual. It seems to me to have more general load data, not just data for one powder manufacturer, or one bullet maker.

When the number of people in institutions reaches 51%, we change sides.
Old December 20, 2009, 10:06 AM   #3
Sky Master

I have the Hornady, Sierra, Nosler and Lyman Manuals, but I've also downloaded the Alliant, Winchester and Hodgdon Manuals.
I addition I've also checked other forums to see what favorite load other handloaders use. It all depends on what brand and type of bullet I'm reloading.
Old December 20, 2009, 10:20 AM   #4
Sam06

I think the Sierra is about the best out there. I like the bullet company books (Sierra, Hornaday, speer) because they seem to have more realistic data. The only problem is they only deal with their bullets. The LOad Books are great for each Caliber you load for.

PO Ackleys books are a great read but the data is very old and most powders have changed, but as a historic reference his books and Phil Sharp's are really good reads.

The Lyman Reloading Book is a good choice too. It has some very good data and the tips and instruction at the front is great.