The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 3, 2010, 01:07 PM   #1
grubbylabs

Any one have problems with Rem 9 1/2 primers

I have had about 6 or so for my 308 not fire, any one have any ideas? There is a great strike mark on the primer from the firing pin. I have even rotated the rounds and hit them several time to no avail.

I would love to hear any ideas on this, I am new to reloading so any thing is a possibility.

Nope, the old nag's still dead .
(Capt Charlie)
Old October 3, 2010, 01:20 PM   #2
TXGunNut

Before the latest shortage the 9 1/2 was my standard LR primer. Never had an issue. I recently purchased a box of RP factory loads and one had a bad primer, very odd. Assuming you're handling and storing the primers properly so hope you didn't buy a bunch of them, I'd consider the whole lot suspect with a failure rate like this.
My favorite recipes start out with a handful of used wheelweights.
Old October 3, 2010, 03:33 PM   #3
grubbylabs

They sit high on a shelf and Idaho is the definition of dry, in fact it creates lots of problems with static cling on my powders and what not. I take them and dump them upside down right into the primer tray. I don't have any issues with my LG or magnum pistol primers and I have CCI and WLPS and no issues with either of them.

Should I trust them again or steer clear of them. I kinda get the Idea that CCI is the "primer to have" in the hand loading community, do they generally not have problems?

(Capt Charlie)
Old October 3, 2010, 04:10 PM   #4
SDiver40

I have never had a problem using them. Thats mostly what i use too. Check for moisture, excess oil on your brass and seating depth. Make sure they are seated in the brass all the way is a common problem.
Other than that I cant offer anything more
Tom
Old October 3, 2010, 04:58 PM   #5
Clark

Some engineer died.
Another engineer bought the house and bought the reloading gear.