The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 1, 2009, 11:44 AM   #1
Haystack

Looking For Help With 44 Mag H110 Loading

I bought some Hornaday 240 gr swc, and can't find any load data for these with H110. I'm kind of new to reloading, and haven't really done any experimenting with anything that's not in a reloading book. Can I use the load data for 240 gr JHP? Based on what I have seen I was thinking of starting with 23 gr H110. Does this sound about right? I would like to use H110 because that's what I have on hand. The gun is a Super Blackhawk.

Thank You in advance for any help.
Old April 1, 2009, 12:01 PM   #2
AlaskaMike

Sounds like you're right on the money with that 23 grain load. Generally speaking you can use jacketed data with cast bullets.

Good luck, and welcome to the forum!
Mike
Old April 1, 2009, 12:05 PM   #3
Dingoboyx

Fill 'em up with Trail Boss leave room for the projectile of course

Muzza
Old April 1, 2009, 12:07 PM   #4
Unclenick
Staff

DANGER!

No. There is no safe load of H110 with those swaged lead SWC bullets. That is why you don't see one listed. You have to load those swaged lead bullets to lower pressures and velocities than jacketed bullets to avoid stripping them and leading your barrel heavily. They can also deform in the forcing cone in a way that actually causes higher pressure than a jacketed bullet does under some conditions. H110 has the funny property that it can't be loaded down much in a revolver without risk of squibbing out and sticking a bullet in the barrel. That's why you see the warning not to reduce it more than 3% on the Hodgdon site.